performance in a leading role

Yesterday Mom and I went to this play down at the Barrow Street Theater. It was pretty close to NYU.

So we get down there and she’s like “I want a Starbucks!” and we go in and the line is crazy long and she’s like “Oh, well, never mind then.” And I’m like “I want to go into GameStop!” and she…doesn’t want to obviously but I say I just want to run in and look for something (see if they have any Ace Attorney anything [they did not]) and she’s clearly uninterested and doesn’t want to but can’t exactly say no because for crying out loud I’m 25 years old for chrissake I’ll go into GameStop if I want to, I even tell her I’ll meet her at the theater if she wants but somehow that gets shut down.

Aaaaanyway, we go in, I look around, we go out, no harm done, and we go to the play and blah blah whatever (it was pretty funny, kinda fun).

Tonight we’re sitting around watching the latest “Alpha House,” and it ends, and I swear to god I’m the only one who knows how to use the television so I turn it off and exit the program and all that, and she starts telling Dad about how we went into GameStop yesterday and she saw on this big screen in there these hyper-realistic graphics for this game (I dunno, Call of Duty or something) and it’s really disturbing to her that all these kids get into these games and think they’re real, and Dad’s like “And it keeps them from interacting with real people,” and she’s like “It’s no wonder we have all these problems [in society/the world/probably thinking about school shootings and shit],” I just.

I can’t.

I cannot.

Cannot.

Hello Internet.

How ya been.

Leave a Reply

